Routt County Sheriff's Office

2027 Shield Drive
 Steamboat Springs, CO 80487


Serving Our Community

Welcome to the Routt County Sheriff's Office. The Sheriff's office is responsible for law enforcement, investigations, and detentions within Routt County, Colorado. The Routt County Sheriff's office works hand-in-hand with community members to provide protection and service to our community as a whole. We strive to provide the highest qualified law enforcement officers and maintain their skills through ongoing training in the latest law enforcement practices. Routt County is a large area, covering 2,231 square miles. The Routt County Sheriff's Office has primary jurisdiction over the following areas/cities:

  • Unincorporated areas of Routt County
  • Clark
  • Milner
  • Phippsburg
  • Yampa

The Sheriff's Office has resumed front office operations and can be reached by calling 970-870-5503.   Please self evaluate before arriving.  If you have any respiratory symptoms, please do not enter the premises. 

The Sheriff’s Office Civil Division’s normal operating hours are 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m., Monday through Thursday; and 8:00 a.m. – 12:00 noon on Fridays. The Sheriff’s Office is currently accepting all types of civil documents for service. Service will be accepted in person at our office or through the mail.  Please call (970) 870-5527 or (970) 870-5508 to make an appointment or speak with someone in the civil division.